Tamil Nadu / Puducherry

Tamil Nadu / Puducherry


Ancient Tamil Nadu was broadly classified into five regions based on its rulers and their literary and architectural contribution to that region and its economy. Chola Nadu, Thondai Nadu, Nadu Nadu, Kongu Nadu and Pandya Nadu. Through the actual ancient Tamil Nadu boundaries were different we have shown the present day boundary for convenience.

Chola Naadu

About: Visionary Administrators and Master builders, the Chola's love for architecture has few parallels in the world. Among their structural achievements are the UNESCO heritage site temples at Thanjavur, Darasuram and Gangaikondacholapuram. Many other gems are quietly hidden away in the prosperous Kaveri delta. Their ability to cast bronzes, inscriptions that reveal fascinating aspects of daily life give us valuable insights into medieval Tamil Nadu. Fearless warriors who conquered lands within and outside the peninsular ofIndia they were also great patrons art and architecture. A visit to any Chola site is a fascinating experience and urges the viewer to embark on a greater journey of discovery of their grandeur. They were seafarers who also conquered south east Asia and established a vibrant trade accords the oceans.

The present districts of The Chola Nadu: Ariyalur, Karaikal, Nagapattinam, Perambalur, Pudukkottai, Thanjavur, Tiruchirapalli, Thiruvarur.

For the traveller:

Itineraries on Chola Naadu Articles on Chola Naadu

Thondai Naadu

About: Named after a creeper, this land is renowned for its ancient settlements including Pallavaram that is a part of Chennai today. The capital of Thondai Nadu is Kanchipuram. Mahabalipuram, Vellore and other important towns are vestiges of a past that boasted of a thriving economy and seats of learning including a Budhdhist University which was considered to be equivalent to Nalanda University.. Craft traditions are no less magnificent with the silk sarees being the most important example. The land is watered by ponds and lakes. Large temples are storehouses of information on battles fought here between the Pallavas, Cholas with the Chalukyas and Rashtrakutas from Kanchi.

Present Districts in Thonadai Nadu: Kanchipuram, Vellore, Tiruvannamalai, Tiruvallur and Chennai

For the traveller:

Itineraries on Thondai Naadu Articles on Thondai Naadu

Nadu Naadu

About: Nadu nadu as the name denotes, is that area sandwiched between thondai, kongu and chola nadu. The famous Shivite Saint Appar cast into the sea tied to a stone, came ashore near Cuddalore, the chief town of nadu nadu and offered some of the finest hymns in praise of Lord shiva at Thirupadripuliyur. Traces of ancient civilisation can be witnessed at Arikamedu. The now destroyed fort st. David was built on the coast of Cuddalore.

Pudhucheri or Pondicherry, though a Union Territory and not a part of todays Tamil Nadu State is categorised under Nadu naadu as it belonged to that region in ancient times.

Present day districts Nadu nadu: Villupuram, Cuddalore and Pondicherry

For the traveller:

Itineraries on Nadu Naadu Articles on Nadu Naadu

Kongu Naadu

About: Lush fertile and cool, this land is favoured for textile and educational institutions and sadly off the beaten path. Derived from the word Ganga, Kongu desam signifies a land of beautiful flower awash wish nectar. Noyyal is the river traversing this district and has seen civilisation flourish from the 4th century. Controlled by the cheras during the sangam era and subsequently ruled by the cholas and the Vijayanagara empire, it was finally divided into 24 Palayams. Cuisine, palaces, temples along the Bhavani river and crafts offer a wealth of resources for those keen to travel.

The present day districts of Kongu Nadu: Krishnagiri, Dharmapuri, Salem, Erode, Dindigul, Karur, Tirupur, Namakkal, Nilgiris and Coimbatore

For the traveller:

Itineraries on Kongu Naadu Articles on Kongu Naadu

Pandya Naadu

About: Legend has it that Tamil originated here. Hardly visited beyond Madurai, the area is rich in palaces and temples nestled among the waters of the Tampraparni river and rice fields. Its Western border is shared with Kerala and the majestic mountain ranges of the Western Ghats. Some parts are arid and desert like but even there, eclectic cuisine and hospitality await guests to indulge themselves.

The present districts of Pandya Nadu: Tirunelveli, Kanyakumari, Thoothukudi, Sivagangai, Ramanathapuram, Virudhunagar, Madurai and Theni

For the traveller:

Itineraries on Pandya Naadu Articles on Pandya Naadu